2018, Blog Tour, Bookish, Thriller

Skin Deep by Liz Nugent #BlogTour #BookReview

I could probably have been an actress. It is not difficult to pretend to be somebody else. Isn't that what I've been doing for most of my life? Cordelia Russell has been living on the French Riviera for twenty-five years, passing herself off as an English socialite. But her luck, and the kindness of strangers,… Continue reading Skin Deep by Liz Nugent #BlogTour #BookReview

2018, Bookish, Books, Reviews, Sci-Fi

Time Crawlers by Varun Sayal #BookReview #IndieBooks

I don't normally review independently self-published books, but this book was different. Time Crawlers was a quirky short story anthology of science fiction stories and it was right up my street! Plus Varun asked me so nicely! 🙂 About the Book Alien Invasion, Dark Artificial Intelligence, Time-Travel, High-Tech Mythology, Djinn Folklore, Telekinetics, and life-consuming Cosmic… Continue reading Time Crawlers by Varun Sayal #BookReview #IndieBooks

2018, Blog Tour, Bookish, Books, Crime, Reviews

The First Prehistoric Serial Killer and Other Stories by Teresa Solana #BookReview #BlogTour

  An impressive and very funny collection of stories by Teresa Solana but the fun is very dark indeed. The oddest things happen. Statues decompose and stink out galleries, two old grandmothers are vengeful killers, and a prehistoric detective trails a triple murder that is threatening cave life as the early innocents knew it. The… Continue reading The First Prehistoric Serial Killer and Other Stories by Teresa Solana #BookReview #BlogTour

2018, Blog Tour, Bookish, Books, Crime, Reviews

The Dead Ex by Jane Corry #Review #BlogTour

HE CHEATED. HE LIED. HE DIED. Vicki's husband David once promised to love her in sickness and in health. But after a brutal attack left her suffering with epilepsy, he ran away with his mistress. So when Vicki gets a call one day to say that he's missing, her first thought is 'good riddance'. But then… Continue reading The Dead Ex by Jane Corry #Review #BlogTour

2018, Blog, Bookish

Does Talent = Success?

Oh, to be successful. In a perfect world, we'd all be born with the same privileges and equalled but varied talents. The people with the most talent would exceed in their field, as logic dictates and the people who observed this talent would think the work was worthwhile, but.....it doesn't always work out like that.… Continue reading Does Talent = Success?

2018, Bookish, Libraries, Reviews

The Two Houses by Fran Cooper #Review

After an acclaimed career in ceramics, Jay herself has cracked. Recovering from a breakdown, she and her husband Simon move to the desolate edges of the north of England, where they find and fall in love with the Two Houses: a crumbling property whose central rooms were supposedly so haunted that a previous owner had… Continue reading The Two Houses by Fran Cooper #Review

2018, Bookish, Controversial, Naughty, Reading Habits

Why I Always Read the Last Page…First #ReadingHabits

OK - that might be a slight exaggeration but with the majority of books I read I do flick to the last page so I know how it ends. I relish in doing things that are "naughty" and this may be the naughtiest thing I do, by members of the book community anyway. I don't… Continue reading Why I Always Read the Last Page…First #ReadingHabits

Bookish, Books, Contemporary, Crime, Thriller

The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton #BookReview #perfect

You've never read a love story as twisted as this. This must read thriller of 2018. Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window, Anatomy of a Scandal and The Girl Before. Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love. Juliette loves Nate. She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a… Continue reading The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton #BookReview #perfect

2017, Blog Tour, Bookish, Reading, Reviews

A Pearl for my Mistress by Annabel Fielding #BookReview #BlogTour

A Pearl for my Mistress is a sensual and tense historical novel set in England in 1934. Old ways and ideas are changing rapidly as the world itself begins to turn on it's head. I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely piece of LGBTQ historical fiction and felt a slight homage to Sarah Waters, although the writing… Continue reading A Pearl for my Mistress by Annabel Fielding #BookReview #BlogTour

Blog, Bookish, Libraries, Reading, Reviews

Incest by Christine Angot #BookReview

I see this book as a work of art, it is not something that I enjoyed reading. Yet, I feel that books like this HAVE to be written to keep the landscape of modern literature fresh, live and moving forward. Angot here handles the taboo of incest in shocking prose and there were times when… Continue reading Incest by Christine Angot #BookReview

2017, Blog Tour, Bookish, Next, Reading, Reviews

Dating Daisy by Daisy Mae #BookReview #BlogTour

A quirky romance story about finding love on the internet, while working in a sexual health clinic and being in your mid-fifties. What do you do when you're a newly divorced 52 year old mother, keen for a second chance of romance? Why internet dating of course! Daisy Mae_224 embarks on the internet dating process… Continue reading Dating Daisy by Daisy Mae #BookReview #BlogTour