2020, Blog, Bookish, Books, Reviews, Romance

Messy, Wonderful Us by Catherine Isaac #Review

From Richard & Judy Book club author Catherine Isaac comes the emotional and uplifting story of love, loss, friendship and a letter that changes everything. In late 1983, a letter arrives from Italy, containing secrets so unthinkable that it is hidden away, apparently forever. More than three decades later, it is found . . . by… Continue reading Messy, Wonderful Us by Catherine Isaac #Review

2019, Blog, Bookish, Historical, Reviews

Book Review: The Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo

They say a tiger that devours too many humans can take the form of a man and walk among us... In 1930s colonial Malaya, a dissolute British doctor receives a surprise gift of an eleven-year-old Chinese houseboy. Sent as a bequest from an old friend, young Ren has a mission: to find his dead master's… Continue reading Book Review: The Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo

2019, Blog Tour, Bookish, Reviews

A River in the Trees by Jacqueline O’Mahony #BlogTour #BookReview

  Two women. Two stories. One hundred years of secrets. A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history. 1919 Ireland is about to be torn apart by the War of Independence. Hannah O'Donovan helps her father hide rebel soldiers in the attic, putting her family in great danger from the British soldiers who roam… Continue reading A River in the Trees by Jacqueline O’Mahony #BlogTour #BookReview

2018, Bookish, Books, Reviews, Sci-Fi

Time Crawlers by Varun Sayal #BookReview #IndieBooks

I don't normally review independently self-published books, but this book was different. Time Crawlers was a quirky short story anthology of science fiction stories and it was right up my street! Plus Varun asked me so nicely! 🙂 About the Book Alien Invasion, Dark Artificial Intelligence, Time-Travel, High-Tech Mythology, Djinn Folklore, Telekinetics, and life-consuming Cosmic… Continue reading Time Crawlers by Varun Sayal #BookReview #IndieBooks

2018, Blog Tour, Bookish, Books, Crime, Reviews

The First Prehistoric Serial Killer and Other Stories by Teresa Solana #BookReview #BlogTour

  An impressive and very funny collection of stories by Teresa Solana but the fun is very dark indeed. The oddest things happen. Statues decompose and stink out galleries, two old grandmothers are vengeful killers, and a prehistoric detective trails a triple murder that is threatening cave life as the early innocents knew it. The… Continue reading The First Prehistoric Serial Killer and Other Stories by Teresa Solana #BookReview #BlogTour

2018, Blog Tour, Bookish, Books, Crime, Reviews

The Dead Ex by Jane Corry #Review #BlogTour

HE CHEATED. HE LIED. HE DIED. Vicki's husband David once promised to love her in sickness and in health. But after a brutal attack left her suffering with epilepsy, he ran away with his mistress. So when Vicki gets a call one day to say that he's missing, her first thought is 'good riddance'. But then… Continue reading The Dead Ex by Jane Corry #Review #BlogTour

2018, Reviews

An Ocean of Minutes by Thea Lim #Review #BlogTour

What would you give to recover the past? In the vein of The Time Traveller's Wife and Station Eleven, a bittersweet and unforgettable love story of a couple who are at once weeks and many years apart. A devastating and timely novel about courage, yearning, the cost of holding onto the past - and the price of letting it go. 'An… Continue reading An Ocean of Minutes by Thea Lim #Review #BlogTour

2018, Reviews

Five Years from Now by Paige Toon #Review

What if you met the right person at the wrong time? Nell and Van meet as children when their parents fall in love, but soon they are forced worlds apart. Five years later, they find each other.  Their bond is rekindled and new feelings take hold, but once again they must separate. For the next two decades, fate brings Nell… Continue reading Five Years from Now by Paige Toon #Review

2018, Blog Tour, Reviews, Thriller

Now You See by Max Manning #BlogTour #Review

Will you look her in the eyes, just before she dies? A terrifying crime thriller that will set your pulse pounding. Perfect for fans of M. J. Arlidge, Robert Bryndza, and Angela Marsons. On the streets of London, a vicious killer is using social media to turn murder into entertainment . . . I, Killer… Continue reading Now You See by Max Manning #BlogTour #Review

2018, Bookish, Libraries, Reviews

The Two Houses by Fran Cooper #Review

After an acclaimed career in ceramics, Jay herself has cracked. Recovering from a breakdown, she and her husband Simon move to the desolate edges of the north of England, where they find and fall in love with the Two Houses: a crumbling property whose central rooms were supposedly so haunted that a previous owner had… Continue reading The Two Houses by Fran Cooper #Review