2018, Blog Tour, Bookish, Thriller

Skin Deep by Liz Nugent #BlogTour #BookReview

I could probably have been an actress. It is not difficult to pretend to be somebody else. Isn't that what I've been doing for most of my life? Cordelia Russell has been living on the French Riviera for twenty-five years, passing herself off as an English socialite. But her luck, and the kindness of strangers,… Continue reading Skin Deep by Liz Nugent #BlogTour #BookReview

2018, Bookish, Books, Reviews, Sci-Fi

Time Crawlers by Varun Sayal #BookReview #IndieBooks

I don't normally review independently self-published books, but this book was different. Time Crawlers was a quirky short story anthology of science fiction stories and it was right up my street! Plus Varun asked me so nicely! 🙂 About the Book Alien Invasion, Dark Artificial Intelligence, Time-Travel, High-Tech Mythology, Djinn Folklore, Telekinetics, and life-consuming Cosmic… Continue reading Time Crawlers by Varun Sayal #BookReview #IndieBooks

2018, Reviews

An Ocean of Minutes by Thea Lim #Review #BlogTour

What would you give to recover the past? In the vein of The Time Traveller's Wife and Station Eleven, a bittersweet and unforgettable love story of a couple who are at once weeks and many years apart. A devastating and timely novel about courage, yearning, the cost of holding onto the past - and the price of letting it go. 'An… Continue reading An Ocean of Minutes by Thea Lim #Review #BlogTour

2018, Reviews

Five Years from Now by Paige Toon #Review

What if you met the right person at the wrong time? Nell and Van meet as children when their parents fall in love, but soon they are forced worlds apart. Five years later, they find each other.  Their bond is rekindled and new feelings take hold, but once again they must separate. For the next two decades, fate brings Nell… Continue reading Five Years from Now by Paige Toon #Review

2018, Bookish, Libraries, Reviews

The Two Houses by Fran Cooper #Review

After an acclaimed career in ceramics, Jay herself has cracked. Recovering from a breakdown, she and her husband Simon move to the desolate edges of the north of England, where they find and fall in love with the Two Houses: a crumbling property whose central rooms were supposedly so haunted that a previous owner had… Continue reading The Two Houses by Fran Cooper #Review

Bookish, Books, Contemporary, Crime, Thriller

The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton #BookReview #perfect

You've never read a love story as twisted as this. This must read thriller of 2018. Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window, Anatomy of a Scandal and The Girl Before. Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love. Juliette loves Nate. She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a… Continue reading The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton #BookReview #perfect

Poetry, Reviews

Honeybee by Trista Mateer #BookReview #Poetry

You will meet people in your lifetime who demand to have poems written about them. It’s not something they say. It’s something about their hands, the shape of their mouths, the way they look walking away from you.  Honeybee is an honest take on walking away and still feeling like you were walked away from. It’s… Continue reading Honeybee by Trista Mateer #BookReview #Poetry

2017, Blog Tour, Bookish, Reading, Reviews

A Pearl for my Mistress by Annabel Fielding #BookReview #BlogTour

A Pearl for my Mistress is a sensual and tense historical novel set in England in 1934. Old ways and ideas are changing rapidly as the world itself begins to turn on it's head. I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely piece of LGBTQ historical fiction and felt a slight homage to Sarah Waters, although the writing… Continue reading A Pearl for my Mistress by Annabel Fielding #BookReview #BlogTour

2017, Blog, Books, Libraries, Reviews

Practice Makes Perfect by Penny Parkes #BookReview #BooksAndTheCity

This book is such an enjoyable read! I love feel-good book with substance and Penny Parkes has proved that she really knows what she's writing about, with her writing style, medical terms and treatments. This is a village story with a romance, rather than a romance fitted around a village. The characters were great, really… Continue reading Practice Makes Perfect by Penny Parkes #BookReview #BooksAndTheCity

2017, Blog, Bookish, Libraries, Reviews

Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan #BookReview

A political and riveting read! James is a public servant and family man accused of rape. He was having an affair with Olivia and ended it, then something happens between the two of them and whether it's consensual or not is at the decision of a jury.  Olivia gives a believable account of the story,… Continue reading Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan #BookReview